The Society for Judgment and Decision Making

The Society for Judgment and Decision Making is an interdisciplinary academic organization dedicated to the study of normative, descriptive, and prescriptive theories of judgments and decisions. Its members include psychologists, economists, organizational researchers, decision analysts, and other decision researchers. The Society's primary event is its Annual Meeting, at which Society members present their research. It also publishes the journal Judgment and Decision Making.

Boston skyline

The 2016 meeting took place in Boston, MA, November 18-21. Plenary events included a keynote talk on Sunday, November 20th delivered by Linda Babcock. A tribute for Baruch Fischhoff took place on Friday, November 18, to celebrate his achievements and contribution to the field.

Here is the final program.

If you presented, please consider uploading your presentation slides or poster to the SJDM meeting archive:


The previous SJDM conference was held in Chicago, Illinois, in 2015.

Complete final program, including talks presented and posters.

Video of tribute to Paul Slovic

Interview of Daniel Kahneman (Leif Nelson, interviewer; audio recording).


Tentative schedule for future meetings:
2017 - Vancouver, BC, Canada, November 10-13
2018 - New Orleans, LA, November 16-19
2019 - Montreal, QC, Canada, November 15-18

SJDM meetings are in tandem with those of the Psychonomic Society, which provides assistance to us in various ways.


Mailing lists: Members of SJDM are added to the sjdm-members mailing list, which is for communications about society business such as meetings and elections. It also provides a password for the members section of this site and a monthly reminder of it. This is a very low-volumue mailing list. You cannot unsubscribe from it. See the member links (top of this page) for other tools. If you are a member and you are not getting mail about Society elections and other business, please write baron@upenn.edu.

The jdm-society mailing list is much higher volume and is open to all for reading and posting, but moderated.


Decision Science News always has the latest conference deadlines, jobs, and announcements.
 Subscribe by email (one email per week, easy unsubscribe) rss icon RSS


2015-2016 Executive board

Rick Larrick (rick.larrick@duke.edu), President
Dan Goldstein (dan@dangoldstein.com), Past President
Chris Hsee (christopher.hsee@chicagobooth.edu), President Elect
Oleg Urminsky (oleg.urminsky@chicagobooth.edu), Elected Member 2016-2019
Katy Milkman (kmilkman@wharton.upenn.edu), Elected Member 2015-2018
Shane Frederick (shane.frederick@yale.edu), Elected Member 2014-2017
Edward Chang (changed@wharton.upenn.edu), Student member 2016-2017
Bud Fennema (fennema@fsu.edu), Secretary-Treasurer
Jon Baron (baron@upenn.edu), Webmaster
Jon Baron (baron@upenn.edu), Journal Editor
Dan Goldstein (dan@dangoldstein.com), Newsletter Editor
Suzanne Shu (suzanne.shu@anderson.ucla.edu), 2017 Program Committee Chair

Kate Wessels (Kate.Wessels@behavioralpolicy.org), 2016 Conference Coordinator


Web site maintained by Jon Baron, Dan Goldstein, Dave Hardisty, and Jon Westfall, with help from others. Backups are here. and here. The mailing lists don't work on these.