The Society for Judgment and Decision Making

The Society for Judgment and Decision Making is an interdisciplinary academic organization dedicated to the study of normative, descriptive, and prescriptive theories of judgments and decisions. Its members include psychologists, economists, organizational researchers, decision analysts, and other decision researchers. The Society's primary event is its Annual Meeting, at which Society members present their research. It also publishes the journal Judgment and Decision Making.

montreal image
Photo Sam Liu

The 2019 meeting took place in Montreal, November 15-18. The deadline for submission of abstracts was June 20. The main meeting site was the Palais des congrés de Montréal, 1001 Place Jean-Paul-Ripoelle, Montréal.

Program (final version, including posters)

Information about SJDM membership is here.

Presentations

If you presented this year, please consider uploading your presentation slides or poster to the SJDM meeting archive:

Here are are the talks and posters from past and upcoming meetings (including submissions for the student-poster award).

Upload your poster or slides here (from any year, including this one).

Past and future meetings
The 2019 meeting took place in Montreal, November 15-18. Here is the final program.

This year, a closely related meeting: SPUDM

Tentative schedule for future meetings:
2020 - Austin, TX, November 20-23
2021 - San Diego, CA, November 19-22
2022 - Washington, DC, November 18-21
2023 - San Francisco, CA, November 17-20
2024 - New York, NY, November 22-25

SJDM meetings are in tandem with those of the Psychonomic Society, which provides assistance to us in various ways.

Mailing lists:
Members of SJDM are added to the sjdm-members mailing list, which is for communications about society business such as meetings and elections. It also provides a password for the members section of this site and a monthly reminder of it. This is a very low-volumue mailing list. You cannot unsubscribe from it. If you want to quit, see the Members link above, which also has other options of possible interest. If you are a member and you are not getting mail about Society elections and other business, please check the list archives, and then (if you missed something recent) check your spam. If that doesn't help, write baron@upenn.edu.

The jdm-society mailing list is much higher volume and is open to all for reading and posting, but moderated.

DO NOT USE MAILING LIST PASSWORDS FOR ANYTHING ELSE. (And do not try to change them.)

Decision Science News always has the latest conference deadlines, jobs, and announcements.
feed Subscribe by email (one email per week, easy unsubscribe) rss icon RSS


2019-2020 Executive Board

Katy Milkman (kmilkman@wharton.upenn.edu), President
Danny Oppenheimer (doppenh1@andrew.cmu.edu), President Elect
Nina Mazar (nmazar@bu.edu) Past President
Suzanne Shu (suzanne.shu@anderson.ucla.edu), Elected Member 2017-2020
Abigail Sussman (asussman@chicagobooth.edu), Elected Member 2018-2021
Dan Bartels (Daniel.Bartels@chicagobooth.edu), Elected Member 2019-2022
Bud Fennema (fennema@fsu.edu), Secretary-Treasurer
David Hardisty (david.hardisty@sauder.ubc.ca), Webmaster
Jon Baron (baron@upenn.edu), Journal Editor
Dan Goldstein (dan@dangoldstein.com), Newsletter Editor
Abigail Sussman (Abigail.Sussman@chicagobooth.edu), 2020 Program Committee Chair
Stephanie Permut (stephanie.permut@gmail.com), 2020 Student Representative


SJDM is a member of the Federation of Associations of Behavioral and Brain Sciences (FABBS).

Web site maintained by Dave Hardisty, Jon Westfall, Jon Baron, Dan Goldstein, Nathan Maddix with help from others. Direct inquiries about PhD programs to Nathan Maddix.
Backups are here. and here. The mailing lists don't work on these.